We label dishes as plant-based when they don’t contain any ingredients from animals at all, including dairy, honey, or eggs.
Dishes labelled as plant-based can carry a ‘may contain’ warning about animal allergens within specific ingredients. If this is the case, these will be clearly declared on the pack.
All plant-based recipes are developed with raw materials which do not intentionally contain ingredients, processing aids, or other substances of animal origin.
Some plant-based raw materials may have a risk of cross-contamination with allergens of animal origin, such as milk or egg, due to production methods in factories that produce plant-based and non-plant-based products. Where this risk is identified by the manufacturer, the products will be labelled with a ‘may contain’ allergen warning.
These raw materials may be used in Gousto’s plant-based recipes, as long as the ‘may contain’ warning is clearly stated on the recipe to alert customers with allergies. This is in line with the approach taken by The Vegan Society.